Patient Reviews

 

NOTE: These reviews are written by patients on an independent third party website.

For more information visit:


Vitals.com  Yelp.com   RealSelf.com


December 25, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I have had wonderful experiences with filler injections from Dr Khorasani. His expert advice, along with understanding what I was hoping to acheive, gave me results I am thrilled with. He understood exactly what would compliment the structure of my face, while maintaining a natural look, which was important to me. I am confident that I can look forward to many years of looking my absolute best, while I am under Dr Khorasani’s expert care.

View rating details


December 24, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Very professional and caring. I felt 100% confterble eventough the procedure was in the bikini area. Staff was also amazing! Thank you

View rating details


November 13, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I had a basil cell cancer removed by Dr. K - his bedside manner and calm demeanor made me feel relaxed, I immediately felt at ease with his ability as a surgeon - I highly recommend Dr. K

View rating details


November 5, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Two years ago, I had the great fortune of stumbling upon Dr. Khorasani.  After numerous visits to other top dermatologists in the city, not only did I still have the acne, premature wrinkles and age spots that plagued me-- I couldn't find a physician that was willing to take their time for me to feel safe and stick with for the long haul.  Dr. Khorasani is a godsend.

View rating details


September 14, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I had a MOHS procedure with Dr. Khorasani in July. My procedure was on my face so I was extremely nervous about the procedure itself as well as residual scarring. He was kind and reassuring. His office staff was efficient and he was also very mindful of my needs. I am now 2 months out from my procedure and the scarring is virtually non-existent. Dr. Khorasani and his staff were extremely thorough and professional in every way, and I'm 100% pleased with my results. I could not recommend him more highly.

View rating details


September 14, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I underwent a MOHS procedure with Dr. Khorasani. He had a very caring bedside manner - was pleasant, continually asking me how I was feeling, whether or not I was in pain, etc. My procedure was on my face, and I was very concerned for residual scaring. He was incredibly understanding of this, and reassured me that at the end he would make sure that there was very minimal scarring at whatever the cost. He was extremely professional in every way.

View rating details


September 10, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Over the course of the last 15 months, Dr. Khorasani has performed a number of cosmetic procedures on me, which have significantly improved my natural appearance and given me a new sense of confidence and self-worth.

View rating details


August 8, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

My experience with Dr. Khorasani was nothing less than stellar.

I have never written a review of a doctor before, but I felt compelled to write this one. Not so much for Dr. Khorasani whose reputation and skill speak for themselves, but more so for other prospective patients who find themselves needing Mohs surgery (especially for the first time) and may be dealing with stress, anxiety and/or frustration as I clearly had been. If that's you, I urge you to see Dr. Khorsani. You'll thank me for it.

View rating details


August 2, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

What a great experience it was at Dr Khorasani's office. I had my first visit yesterday and as soon as I walked into the office, I felt comfortable and at ease. The front desk staff and nurses are so welcoming and friendly. I loved that their was no wait. Dr.Khorasani came in, listened to my questions/concerns, he addressed them in detail, told me exactly what to expect during my procedure and was so patient and generous with his time in talking with me first. I couldn't be happier with the results.

View rating details


June 26, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I highly recommend Dr. Khorasani! I have gone to him for filler in my lips as well as a couple laser treatments and I love my results! He is all about giving natural looking results that enhance your features. Not only is he a highly skilled and talented doctor but he is also very kind and down to earth. He truly makes you feel like a valued patient and I am so happy to have found him!

View rating details


June 22, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

A LIP AUGMENTATION EXPERIENCE

Yesterday I went for a check-up and during my visit with Dr. Khorasani, I casually mentioned how frustrating I found the lines around my lips to be. I must categorically state that I have always rejected all "enhancers" or aides to looking better and I was adamantly against lip augmentation. Dr. Khorasani suggested that he could help but I wasn't sure. However...as I reflected upon the history Dr. K and I have together, I began to think more positively. It was he who removed the cancer and part of my nose with Mohs surgery in 2012 and it was he who put it all back together.

So... I decided to have him work on my lips. I felt totally confident as he worked - no nervous stomach - no silent prayers that he wouldn't mess me up. I felt safe, secure and relaxed as he conducted the procedure. Finally, he was finished...well not quite. He kneeled down in front of me to make certain that I was symmetrical. And he saw a tiny blip which he felt needed to be fixed. Bingo. I was done. Well...I walked out of his office feeling absolutely elated. This morning, I woke up to "new lips" and no major swelling - absolutely no bruising - nothing but the memory of my very positive experience. This guy is a miracle worker. I thought so after he reconstructed my nose and I have once again experienced the magic he continues to create.

View rating details


June 20, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Dr. Khorasani is a thoughtful, considerate and thorough professional. His technical proficiency and talent is only matched by his abilities as a strong communicator. I highly recommend him and his staff to anyone needing or considering dermatological surgery.

View rating details


May 24, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Dr, Khorasani is fantastic. He is an amazing surgeon and also a kind person. He really takes attention to his patients and has " bedside manners" which most surgeons do not. I have had basel cell carcinoma all over my body for many years. I had Mohs surgery 5 years ago with the so called "best Mohs surgeon in Manhattan, Dr. Geronemus" and was not that impressed with his work. Dr Khorasani is way better! When I was recently diagnosed with another face basel cell carcInoma, my dermatologist recommended Dr. Khorsasani. I am very pleased with his work and my recovery. It has only been a month and I have practically zero scar. I highly recommend him to anyone.

View rating details


May 14, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I had liposuction in the abdomen area. Dr K was very professional and answered all my questions and was always available if any concerns arose. Even after the procedure, Dr K constantly followed up to make sure everything was good. I highly recommend Dr K for this treatment. To me he is the best at this treatment by far and he is constantly available to answer any queries you have. He is a true professional and very diligent and caring to make sure you are comfortable every step of the way. With Dr Khorasani, you will be satisfied of the results. I highly recommend Dr Khorasani.

View rating details


February 21, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I received botox for the first time and have really loved the results. A perfect amount was done and Dr. Khorasani was very receptive and understanding to my questions and concerns. I definitely recommended seeing him.

View rating details


January 26, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I was referred to Dr Khorasani by my dermatologist as being a doctor "on top of his game".  Looking at the neat scarring from removal of malignant melanoma I can see why.  Never having had surgery before, it was a bit daunting but delighted with how Dr Khorasani dealt with me and giving me the peace of mind I needed with my now all clear result.  Thank you Dr.

View rating details


January 6, 2017
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I have seen Dr. Khorasani on many occasions and he never fails to impress me as well as my family members and friends that I continue to refer to him.

I recently had the Clear and Brilliant treatment and the results were way beyond my expectations. I have been struggling with hyperpigmentation on my forehead and after only one treatment I have seen a significant improvement. I also had the SculpSure Body Contouring treatment and I have lost several inches off my waist and belly.

View rating details


November 23, 2016
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Dr. KHORASANI has performed two separate and unrelated Mohs Surgeries on my nose, in the last three years. Each was to remove a well established, potentially perforating, basel cell. Both operations required innovative strategies of creativity, medical thoroughness and deftness of hand. In each case, Dr KHORASANI removed the tumor AND perfectly reconstructed what COULD have, in other hands, left severe disfigurement! Dr. KHORASANI is mild mannered, youthful, soft spoken and tolerant of questions and concerns. His excellent and kind staff, from Dermatological Fellows to Scrubs, respects and feels privileged to learn from him. His facility, The Eric and Kimberly Waldman Dermatological Department of Mt. SINAI Hospital, in Manhattan, is comfortable, clean and efficiently run. I am thankful for my original referral to Dr. KHORASANI.

View rating details


November 7, 2016
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Dr. Khorasani is a truly amazing. I work have worked in the beauty industry at magazines/publishers for many years and have had various experiences with many dermatologists and cosmetic surgeons simply because of my line of work. I have had both cosmetic (injections) and dermatologic treatments with Dr. K, and am extremely happy with the results. Dr. K is beyond knowledgeable, patient and kind, and totally aligns with and delivers on the goals you seek from your treatment.

View rating details


October 12, 2016
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Dr. Khorasani is the absolute best!!  I was very nervous about Botox and fillers and have a pretty significant fear of needles. Dr. Khorasani was kind, patient, attentive, and very informative. He listened to my concerns, advised me on what he thought we should do, and explained exactly what he was doing and why for each and every step. I received Botox and Juvederm (for the lines around my mouth and then to smooth my lips) and I am happy to say that it didn't hurt a bit. Definitely less than a bikini wax! I look like myself, only better, and I couldn't be happier with the results! I don't trust anyone but Dr. Khorasani!! I highly recommend him to anyone... especially if you are nervous about trying any of the procedures.

View rating details


September 30, 2016
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Hooman Khorasani, M.D. is a brilliant, extraordinarily talented, and skilled young physician at The Mount Sinai Hospital and Medical Center in New York. He is Chief, Division of Mohs, Reconstructive, and Cosmetic Surgery in the Department of Dermatology.

Dr. Khorasani has superb credentials, a long record of accomplishments, and is very highly regarded.

I have been a patient of Dr. Khorasani for a number of years, and he has my complete trust and confidence. I consider myself blessed to be in his care.

View rating details


August 17, 2016
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I've been a patient of Dr. Khorasani for several years and I can confidently say he is one of the best physicians I have ever seen. I am 37 and have a history of melanoma so I have check-ups frequently. Dr. Khorasani does a complete skin care check and has a terrific bed-side manner. I feel so reassured to be in his care and I have recommended him to all of my friends. He is just a really wonderful person too.... always asks about my children, personally returns phone calls and e-mails. He is a skilled doctor with such a caring personality. You can't go wrong! Last year he used a laser treatment to remove a cancerous spot on my nose. Not even the smallest of scars was left behind.

View rating details


August 4, 2016
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Brilliant dermatologic surgeon. So skilled, so nice, such beautiful work and a wonderful, caring and knowledgable office staff. Exceptional.

View rating details


August 3, 2016
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I recently had a Mohs surgery with Dr. Khorasani. Dr Khorasani is kind, caring and warm!  I HIGHLY recommend Dr. Khorasani!

View rating details


July 31, 2016
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

In my judgement Dr K is the best in the world. Not only did he get control of my numerous skin cancers he gave me the strength and courage to manage my condition. I owe him my life. Also,he is a gentlemen and a very caring person.

View rating details


July 4, 2016
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Female with 2 skin cancers on my nose with excellent results. Dr Khorisani is caring, expert and the office is prompt with questions. Couldn't do better.

View rating details


June 23, 2016
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I was referred to Dr. Khorasani by another doctor and I could not be happier. After dealing with a chronic dermatologic issue on my face for several years, and having been to other surgeons and dermatologists, I was so relieved to see Dr. Khorasani, discuss the options, and go forward with an office-based procedure the next week. The procedure went AMAZING; I have no scar after a month and there was no pain or complications. Aside from being personable and professional, he's an excellent plastic surgeon. I was concerned about a scar and wasn't sure if I should go forward, but I wish i had seen him 5 years ago. I would highly recommend him for any dermatology or plastics issue. The office is great too- modern, computerized, and easy.

View rating details


June 6, 2016
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

About 5 or 6 years ago, Dr. Khorasani  performed a Mohs surgery on my right cheek, next to my nostril. I've never forgotten the experience or his care.

I was 35, and frightened out of my mind by the word "cancer," even though my basal carcinoma was not nearly as threatening as other types. I was afraid I'd be disfigured or that the procedure would be followed by more extensive ones. Dr. Khorasani was extremely patient, professional, and most of all, calming, throughout the process. His work was impeccable. Immediately after the sutures came out it was barely evident I'd had anything done.

My surgery had been preceded by TWO appointments where the office -- at which Dr. Khorasani was a visiting physician -- either did not receive or could not find my paperwork, costing me time and money. Unlike virtually any other Doctor I've ever encountered, he advocated on my behalf and told the staff they needed to do better and do right by me.

I've never forgotten his professionalism, his helpfulness, and his bedside manner. Honestly, one of the best experiences I've ever had with any health professional.

View rating details


May 30, 2016
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Dr K has to be the kindest person I know! When I came to see him because a MOHs treatment on my eyelid made my eyes look uneven, he told me that it "made him sad that cancer caused it

View rating details


February 6, 2016
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I have been in business a very long time and I must tell you that in both my personal and business life I have rarely had the good fortune and privilege to encounter people like Dr. Khorasani. It is no surprise to me that he is Chief of Division of Mohs, Reconstructive and Cosmetic Surgery at Mount Sinai

This is not only a humanitarian, but a great physician as well.

View rating details


September 28, 2015
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Highly recommend!! Dr. Khorasani has been treating the red discoloration on my face with the V Beam laser and I am so happy with the results. Dr. Khorasani was very informative and thorough during my consultation with him and he really took the time to help me determine which treatment would be the best option for my skin type. He is always very patient and attentive and I have never felt rushed during any of my appointments.

Not only is Dr. Khorasani a fantastic doctor but he is also very personable and friendly. He truly cares about his patients and I would recommend him to anyone!

View rating details


September 5, 2015
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Dr. Hooman Khorasani not only has the credentials and experience but he also took the time to carefully explain the procedure and relieve any fears or concerns I had. He thoroughly answered all my questions before, during and after the procedure. I also felt secure having the procedure done in a hospital rather than an office. The cost he gave me is on par with other prices I’ve research and there were no hidden fees. I instantly felt comfortable when we met during our consultation–which I believe is important. I would definitely go back to Dr. Khorasani for another procedure and would highly recommend him to anyone.

View rating details


July 17, 2015

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I had always disliked my lips since they were thin and disappeared when I smiled. With Dr. Khorasani, I didn’t just get fuller, prettier lips; he took into consideration my entire facial structure and gave me natural-looking lips that enhanced my overall appearance. I feel great and, even better, my friends and family tell me I’ve never looked prettier. New lips, new me…thanks Dr. Khorasani!

View rating details


 July 15, 2015

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Highly recommend! A Doctor with great beside manner . More then sufficient time in explaining procedure. A personal follow up the following morning . Great experience and outcome.

View rating details


 May 15, 2015

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I’ve had 2 mohs surgeries with Dr. Khorisani and my 100 year old father had 2. We both have had nothing but excellent experiences with Dr. Khorisani. He’s patient and thoughtful and have appreciated his kindness & generosity. He does high quality work. I highly recommend him.

View rating details


 December 16, 2014

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

After being diagnosed with BCC( type of skin cancer) I was referred to Dr. Khorasani, even though my Insurance wasn’t excepted he didn’t turn me away! He and his amazing staff took care of me with the utmost respect and care!

View rating details


 April 22, 2014

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

when i first met Dr. Khorasani, he suggested i have a biopsy of an old chicken pox scar. i was reluctant as the scar had been there for so long. He was persistent over the next couple of years that i should have a biopsy. so i agreed. Then i received a call that the biopsy was positive and come in the next day for Moh’s surgery. Luckily Dr. Khorasani was an expert in Moh’s surgery. He made the entire procedure painless even though a rather large hole was created in my lower cheek. With great care he sewed the edges of the skin together so that the scar line would follow my nose and smile lines on my face. I am extremely pleased with his professional skill and the care that he has given me. I would enthusiastically recommend him without reservations.

 August 14, 2013

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

Skin cancer surgery

Dr. Khorasani removed a melanoma from my arm and a basel cell from my neck which was more extensive than originally thought. I was petrified with the melanoma diagnosis even though VERY early stage. He and his staff were beyond comforting, professional and competent. I had several appointments and was nervous each time only to be comforted, but honest with all procedures. His bedside manner is the best, I did not a experience a long wait time, the staff was beyond courteous, and he answered all of my concerns and questions in a most professional and kind manner. He is the very best and I so highly recommend Dr. Khorasani. I felt totally confident and at ease with him and his staff!! This practice on W. 57th is the very best for the dermatologists as well!

View rating details


August 14, 2013

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

In May 2013, I had an excision procedure to remove a malignant melanoma from the right side of my face. The excision left a large hole in my right cheek, which the surgeon who performed the operation suggested I let heal through secondary intention. That was not something I wanted to do. After reviewing lists of dermatologists/surgeons, I decided to make an appointment with Dr. Khorsani based on his exemplary credentials and superior patient reviews. I met with Dr. Khorasani and we discussed the various options available to me. He took the time to thoroughly explain each procedure and with the information he provided, I was able to make a decision as to which option was best for me. I elected to have what is called a Facial Rotation Flap, which amounted to extensive reconstructive surgery to the right side of my face. In addition, he also did Mohs surgery on a cancerous growth on the back of my neck. He incorporated the scar into my hairline, so it is not noticeable. After the surgery, Dr. Khorasani’s staff closely monitored my progress and I always felt that they were just a phone call away. They answered all my questions and allayed all my fears. It has been less then 3 months since my surgery and thanks to Dr. Khorasani’s expertise, my progress has been impressive. What was once a large, disfiguring hole on the side of my face, is now a thin pencil line scar, which is improving daily. From my first visit till present day, I can say without hesitation that I have no regrets having made the decision to consult with Dr. Khorasani. He and his staff are extremely professional and caring. I felt as though I was a member of their family. The care they extended to me was outstanding. I would highly recommend them and will do so in the future. Kudos to them all, for they are the best.

View rating details


July 25, 2013

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

Talented Dermatologist with Excellent Communication Skills

I had an excellent experience with Dr. Khorsani—he is a compassionate, talented and knowledgeable doctor who really cares about the comfort of his patients. I made an appointment with Dr. Khorasani to have a growth on my eyelid removed. Because the incision was on my face, I was extra nervous about how the recovery might affect my appearance. I was thrilled with how quickly and beautifully the incision healed, with minimal bruising and swelling. Dr. Khorasaniâs warmth and effective communication throughout the procedure and follow-up put me at ease and made me feel confident the outcome would be fine.

View rating details


July 17, 2013

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

A tribute …one year later

One year ago today, July 17, Dr. Khorasani performed Mohs surgery on my nose and successfully removed all of the squamous cell cancer that had invaded it. In order to “get” all of the cancer, it was necessary for him to remove a significant portion of my nose. Thus began the miraculous journey of watching this magnificent doctor reconstruct my nose using the pedicle flap procedure and following up later with dermabrasion and laser correction. Every step of the way, he patiently explained each procedure and gave me the confidence to know that – in the end – everything would be alright. Dr. Khorasani gave me back my nose and my life. There are simply no words to express my gratitude to this wonderful man.

View rating details


April 3, 2013

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

Really Great Doctor

he spotted a skin cancer on my face that another dermatologist missed. even better… he performed mohs surgery. it’s now about a month later and the repair is virtually invisible. really nice guy and a wonderful doctor. i would recommend him to anyone without hesitation.

View rating details


March 22, 2013

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

After graduating from college, I moved to New York and immediately began researching doctors to find the most respectable dermatologist and melanoma specialist. I read countless reviews and ultimately decided on Mount Sinai. I chose Hooman Khorasani as my doctor because of his excellent reputation and have not looked back since. His care throughout the past three years has been outstanding. Starting with my first visit, Dr. Khorasani took his time to learn about me and my story providing an extensive first mapping of my moles. He was detailed in his description of every spot on my body from my head to my toes. No other doctor has ever spent that much time to examine me in a more meticulous manor in my life. I never felt he removed anything or did a procedure without it being necessary and giving the explanation. I appreciate his thoughtfulness in removal and scaring. Every three months, I return for follow up appointments where he personally monitors and examines my skin for changes. I am confident in Dr. Khorasani because of his use of cutting edge of technology, studies and treatments. Dr. Khorasani and his staff are very kind, personable, and have excellent follow-up. If I ever leave New York, I will be devastated to leave this incredible doctor. I have never felt more valued and cared for by anyone like I do with Dr. Khorasani. Because I was diagnosed at an early age, I value his stead-fast dedication to me and my health.

View rating details


November 19, 2012

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

Exceptional Doctor and Mohs Surgeon

A few months ago I needed a doctor who performed Mohs surgery and my search online led me to Dr. Khorasani. I am truly grateful to have found such an exceptional doctor. I was anxious about the procedure since the skin cancer was on the ala section of my nose, which I understood to be a potentially tricky spot to repair. Dr, Khorasani and his team helped ease my nervousness and made me feel confident that I was in good hands no matter how extensive the tumor proved to be. I was relieved after two stages of excision to be told that the site was clear, but I still had a substantial opening on my nose that needed closure. Dr. Khorasani used a repair procedure known as an Island Pedicle Flap and, upon healing, my nose looks like it did before the surgery. I recently went for my follow-up visit and was told I could have dermabrasion to eradicate the signs of surgery but, since the scar is so minor, I may just leave it alone. In my search to find a skilled Mohs surgeon, I found the best!

View rating details


October 28, 2012

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

Lipoma through Liposuction

I met with Dr. Khorasani and he told me the options for my large 8cm x 10cm lipoma on my upper left back (bra area) was either an incision or liposuction. Since I am in my twenties and did not want the large scar on my back (the back scars easily) I opted for the liposuction option. While much more expensive, it was close to painless and totally worth it. I was back to work the following morning with only extra strength Tylenol and a prescription to prevent infection. I had to wear a corset type medical wrap for a week to ensure proper healing since mine was so large,but again it was totally worth it. Two weeks lateri can see and feel a difference. No scar. Completely removed and I don’t ever have to explain the nasty lipoma story to people asking about a scar.

View rating details


August 28, 2012

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

A VERY GOOD DOCTOR

I saw Dr Khorasani for a skin cancer which had been mis diagnosed by another doctor more than a year earlier. Having had two other surgical experiences with two other doctors which were less than ideal, I asked for an initial meeting to be sure I would trust myself to this Doctor. He gave me plenty of time, answered what he could answer and gave ranges of answers for what he couldn’t know in advance. I felt prepared and ready. The surgeries were extensive. Since the earlier doctor has said there was nothing wrong, the cancer had a chance to spread: about 3inches by 3 inches on the front part of my scalp. Now, about 6 weeks later I have had surgeries and grafts and suture removal, all sorts of unpleasant sounding things. The funny thing is, though, I always looked forward to the appointments. The staff was always warm and friendly and reassuring and encouraging. It was like going out for a beer with some friends (without the alchohol). I hope you never need the kind of procedures I needed, but if you do, I hope you can get a chance to work with Dr Hooman Khorasani and his great team at Mt Sinai.

View rating details


August 28, 2012

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

MOHS SURGERY AND RECONSTRUCTION VIA PARAMEDIAN FOREHEAD FLAP

On July 5, 2012, I received a call from my dermatologist telling me that a biopsy on my nose had come back indicating squamous cell cancer. Twenty years ago, I had cancer in the same place on my nose and Mohs surgery was performed. It was scary but not terribly invasive and since I had no visible symptoms of the current cancer, I figured the Mohs procedure would be relatively simple with a couple of swipes. Nevertheless, I decided to look at all options relative to who would be the best person to do the job. How does one ever know if youve found the right doctor? Well I am one of the lucky ones; I did. I found Dr. Hooman Khorasani and I want to share my experience with others who may be in the same situation I was in a few weeks ago. Dr. Khorasani is the Chief of Mohs and Reconstructive Surgery at Mt. Sinai Medical Center and I was able to get an appointment with him relatively quickly. The Mohs surgery was scheduled for July 17; it was not the simple procedure I had hoped for. The surgery began at 9:45 a.m. and was completed at 5:45 p.m., after the sixth biopsy had finally indicated clean margins. Never once during this long day did Dr. Khorasani ever indicate anything but total confidence that we were going to get this thing and then make my nose ok, in spite of what I knew was becoming a larger and larger cavity. He gently soothed me with his words, with his comforting pats on my head and his assurances that I should not be worried. In fact, after the fourth biopsy around 4:00 p.m., as I was wondering just how much more they were going to have to take off and out of my nose, he brought his lunch out and sat down with me to explain the next situation we were going to deal with.that of reconstruction via the Paramedian Forehead Flap.Dr. Khorasani was exhausted after a full day of surgery and yet he came out and sat with me one of many patients – to try to give me courage and to make me feel better. How many doctors do that these days? And by the wayhis explanation of the next steps did indeed give me the strength to get through the process because he gave me hope.The first phase of reconstruction began on July 25. Lots of lidocaine shots, preventive pain meds, a little valium and we were ready to go. All through the surgery, I felt his expert hands performing what needed to be done. At one point I knew that he was carefully taking measurements of what I imagined must be the hole in my nose and of how much skin he needed to cover it. I must tell you that at no point was I frightened or worried that I was going to be botched. The man is simply a genius.The first night I started to bleed more than I figured I should be bleeding. Dr. Khorasani told me to apply pressure to the bleeding area until it had stopped and indicated that I should come in the next morning to be repacked. Two days later, I took the pressure bandage off and with it came what seemed to be a critical bandage covering the newly redone flap. Being very frightened, I took pictures, emailed him and waited. He called (on a Saturday) and told me not to be concerned, but suggested that I come in on Monday morning where he reassured me that everything was fine.The first sutures came out on August 1 and on August 15, I had more surgery. No valium, no vicodin but plenty of lidocaine and once again we were ready to proceed. This phase of the reconstruction was the procedure to disconnect the tube of skin from my forehead which had been providing a blood supply to the still growing flap on my nose (it kind of looked like a shuttle because it was riding on top of my nose). As Dr. Khorasani was sewing me up, there was total silence and I could tell that he was concentrating on making the repair as perfect as he could. On Wednesday, August 22, the last sutures were removed. We will now wait a few months for my body to heal and then I will receive laser treatment to further reduce the inevitable scarring on my forehead and nose. However – and this is important for anyone who will be having this procedure – if nothing further were done from here on out and I were to live with the scars I have now, I would feel as if I were one of the luckiest people on earth. My decision to choose Dr. Khorasani made a huge difference in my life. Not only is he an outstanding surgeon, he is a vibrant, gentle, reassuring, precise, responsive, and patient man. There are no words to describe how grateful I am to Dr. Khorasani for his magnificent work. As far as Im concerned, he has performed a miracle.

View rating details



Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I went to Dr. Khorasani for a consultation to have Mohs surgery done for a Basal cell growth under my eye. I was very nervous, scared and concerend about the surgery as this is a very sensitive area near my eye. However, during the consultation I was so impressed with Dr. Khorasani and his explanation of the procedure and the closure that I decided to move forward with the surgery that day. It has now been 3 weeks since the Mohs Surgery and you can barely see anything on mark on my face. Honestly, I never expected this to go so smoothly without any scarring. Dr. Khorasani explained all the steps of the surgery and his bed side manner during the procedure was excellent. I sincerely want to express my gratitude and thanks for such a great outcome.

View rating details


Jun 7, 2012

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

BEST DR.FOR MOHS & RECONSTRUCTED SURGERY

I had to Mohe procedures done.The one on my ear required reconstructive surgery. This was an extremely difficult & long procedure.However Dr.Khorasani made me feel relaxed & safe. I had complete faith & trust in him.He is a very enthusiastic dr.& loves what he does.He has an excellent team beside him.Dr.Aliya works along side with him & she made sure after the procedures were done to stay in contact with me.She responded every time I had a question or concern. The nurse,Grace that assisted with both Mohs procedures & the ear rec

Services We Offer

   

Choose your preferred location